Six Nations 2022: Wales make Jac Morgan debut for Scotland clash | Rugby Union News


Wayne Pivac’s side host Scotland at the Principality Stadium at 2.15pm on Saturday after a tough opening weekend defeat to Ireland; Jac Morgan joins Taine Basham and Ross Moriarty in the back row; Josh Adams is ruled out with a tight calf

Last update: 02/10/22 1:16 p.m.

Jac Morgan will start in the back row for Wales against Scotland on Saturday

Jac Morgan will make his Test debut for Wales against Scotland on Saturday, while Josh Adams is ruled out with a tight calf.

Morgan will be joined by Taine Basham in the back row and Ross Moriarty, who returns to the starting line-up at No 8 after earning his 50th cap as a substitute in Dublin.

Owen Watkin has been named outside center and will partner Nick Tompkins in midfield.

Louis Rees-Zammit starts on one wing with Alex Cuthbert set to make his first Six Nations appearances since 2017 on the other. Liam Williams completes the formation of the back three.

Dan Biggar will lead the team in front of a local audience for the first time and the contest will mark his 100th international appearance after 96 outings for Wales and three for the British and Irish Lions.

If Jonathan Davies leaves the bench, he will also reach the same milestone after 93 appearances for Wales and six for the British and Irish Lions.

Tomos Williams continues at scrum-half and Wales’ top five remain unchanged.

Josh Adams ruled out of Scotland encounter through injury

Josh Adams ruled out of Scotland encounter through injury

“With Ross Moriarty now having more training and playing time under his belt, we believe he is the right player to start, Pivac said.

“Jac Morgan comes in on his debut. He’s someone who has really impressed us in training. He’s worked very, very hard, he gives us a lot of physicality and he’s very good with the ball.

“We expect Scotland to come back full of confidence. They started with a good win. Overall they are a very competitive and committed team who throw everything in every game. We know it will be hard work difficult for us and a big challenge that we look forward to and are ready to face.”

XV of Wales: 15. Liam Williams, 14. Alex Cuthbert, 13. Owen Watkin, 12. Nick Tompkins, 11. Louis Rees-Zammit, 10. Dan Biggar (captain), 9. Tomos Williams, 1. Wyn Jones, 2. Ryan Elias, 3. Tomas Francis, 4. Will Rowlands, 4. Adam Beard (vice captain), 6. Taine Basham, 7. Jac Morgan, 8. Ross Moriarty.

Replacements: 16. Dewi Lake, 17. Gareth Thomas, 18. Dillon Lewis, 19. Seb Davies, 20. Aaron Wainwright, 21. Gareth Davies, 22. Callum Sheedy, 23. Jonathan Davies.


Comments are closed.